“Empowering People Award”: Siemens-Foundation looks for technological solutions to tackle basic supply challenges.

With the “empowering people. Award”, the Siemens Stiftung would like to identify efficient technical solutions which empower people in developing and emerging countries to independently combat existential problems in basic supply.

Inventors and developers from all regions worldwide are invited to enter simple and appropriate technical products and solutions in the categories Water & Waste Water, Energy, Waste Manage-ment & Recycling, Health, Food & Agriculture, Housing & Construction, and Information & Communication Technology. Entries are to be made online on the project website Creativity is of the essence: The competition calls for inventions, for example, innovations that create power for the operation of single machines or the supply of energy in homes, filter systems for water supply, e-health solutions or technologies for composting or recycling. The main requirement here is that the solutions or products can be implemented with the resources in the areas themselves. The entries will be professionally evaluated and an international jury will select winners. 

Following the competition, the technical innovations will be categorised in a new long-term database which is to offer international practicioners in developmental cooperation a speedy and comprehensive overview of operational solutions from the categories defined. The online platform is also designed to foster an international exchange of knowledge, the initiation of cooperation and the further development of the products and solutions available. The aim of the Siemens Stiftung is to encourage the broad use of effective and tailored technological solutions in the appropriate basic supply context. This is to make a valuable contribution in improving living condition in the regions effected most.

The Siemens Stiftung launched the competition in June 2012 at the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development Rio+20. It is supported by the KfW (business area development bank) and the Helmholtz Association. The best entries will be honoured during an Awards Ceremony in Summer 2013. Deadline for entries is 31st December 2012, 12 pm.

Project website 


Share on email
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on xing
Share on print